Toggle Menu
Request a demo Contact us Resources

What does SMCR stand for?


SMCR stands for ‘Senior Managers and Certification Regime’.


Why was SMCR created?


Senior Managers and Certification Regime was set up in response to the 2008 financial crisis. One of the recommendations from the PCBS (Parliamentary Commission on Banking Standards), SMCR was implemented by the FCA and the Bank of England’s PRA (Prudential Regulatory Authority) to ‘consider and report on professional standards and culture of the UK banking sector’.


When was SMCR set up?


SMCR regulations have been in force for banks, building societies, credit unions and PRA-designated investment firms since 2016. Parliament wanted to replace the APER (UK Approved Persons Regime) with something more focused on firms’ Senior Managers and individual responsibility, and SMCR will replace APER in its entirety. Dual-regulated insurers under the PRA have had to be compliant since December last year.


How is SMCR changing?


From 9 December 2019, Senior Managers and Certification Regime will expand to cover all solo-regulated financial services firms operating only under the FCA. These will be distinguished between Limited, Core or Enhanced scopes with increasing requirements for implementing SMCR within each. SMCR also comprises three regimes: Senior Managers, Certification and Conduct Rules. These have different requirements which we’ll describe in more detail further on.


What’s the difference between APER and SMCR?




Read our second instalment in the SMCR blog series here.

Register for SMCR blog alerts in the pop up form below to follow our series.

How can we help?